The cigarette habit

I feel it between my lips
Growing and blowing
Like a midnight trip
Making my lungs
Their sweet home.
This cigarette habit
Longing for Death
Beautiful, eternal fight
Lightning a new cigarette
Laughing at faith,
‘Find me a lighter, quick.’
The light at the top
Off my cigarette-rolled
Flashes like an enormous star
Never stopping the fight.
This is my last cigarette sir,
I swear.
I was just trying so hard sir,
To change.
Lying to myself
Lightning cigarettes,
Blowing O’s
Was everything I ever done,
So I’ll ask Death,
And also to myself,
Will you find me
Surrounded by all this smoke?
Will I find myself
In the middle of this cigarette?
I am probably wrong,
But it’s actually time for a smoke.

image

4 thoughts on “The cigarette habit

  1. Ola ¡. Leo siempre lo que usted escribe , y todo me gusta. ¡Gracias ¡¿puedo copiar en mi pequeño blog un poema que usted escribió en su blog ¿ Cariñosos

    1. Hola, ¡muchas gracias por el apoyo! No hay problema, solo le pediria que ponga al menos un enlace hacia el post original pero claro que puede compartirlo 🙂 ¡Saludos!

  2. Hola¡ copie su lindo poema ¡. ¡¡Cumplí pero me costó ¡¡ para mí el Inglés es para trabajar y con sus poemas me siento mejor !gracias,¡

    1. ¡Gracias a usted! Mi único objetivo es que mis letras lleguen a la gente y les ayude como a mí. Siento no poder escribir tanto en castellano, pero el inglés me inspira muchísimo

Leave a Reply

