Ice cube hearts

The way the ice cube cracks
when the drink hits the glass,
as if it’s saying, “ahh…”

The way my heart broke
when it first let you in.
The way your eyes looked
When I let you home
Leaving without a kiss.
The way we played
Hiding glances
Flowing around the air
Without anyone noticing.
The way you closed
Your globes
When you first kiss me
And the way I remember them now
That you’ll just ignore my being
And leave, and leave..
The ice cube broke down entirely
Letting the tears invade its fortress
And I should surely
Collapse with it and progress.

image

Leave a Reply

